The 2019 Slip to Shore Open Water Swim will take place on Sunday 30th June @ 2pm

155 people took part (a record) with Cillian Tierney winning the race in a time of 22:37 (a new record for the course).

Please check our Facebook Page for the latest news


The Slip to Shore Open Water Swim is a challenging 2km open water swim which begins at Dromatoor Pier (the Slip) and ends at Ballyheigue Beach (the Shore). The swim is set in beautiful surrounding of Tralee Bay where the 10 mile stretch of sandy beach from Barrow, Banna and Ballyheigue meets the headland of Kerryhead. In the background are views of Brandon Mountain and the Maherees. The swim begins at the Slip (about 2 miles from the village along the coast of Kerryhead) and hugs the coastline all the way in to finish near the Lifeguards hut on Ballyheigue Beach. We hope to add a number of other Open Water Swims in North Kerry in the coming years. Proceeds from the event will go to the Local Sea Rescue who provide safety on the day.

Thanks and congratulations to the 96 swimmers who took part in last years Slip to Shore Swim. Conditions were good with calm waters, great visibility, and no major wind. Quite a few


Hall of Fame

2018 – Cillian Tierney (22:37)
2017 – Eoin Keane (28:09)
2016 – Rose Browne (27:16)
2015 – Hugh Stuart (24:59)
2014 – Gerard Pierse (26:02)
2013 – Hugh Stuart (25:19)
2012 – Hugh Stuart (25:48)
2011 – Oran Kane (27:34)
2010 – John Edwards (28:12)

Thanks must go to the local Coastguard, Sea Rescue and all the Kayakers who volunteer to marshall each year and help to make this such a safe and enjoyable event. The Slip to Shore Swim is part of the Ballyheigue Summer Festival so be sure to check out the other events that are happening during this week.

Entry is just €10, Register on the day . All proceeds go to Ballyheigue FRC and Ballyheigue Sea Rescue. Please register your interest on our facebook page at:

View some photos of this last festival and swim

View Race Results 2013 (PDF)

2012 Race Results Congratulations to Hugh Stuart who won this years swim and to Cathy Fisher who was first lady home

View Race Results 2012 (PDF)
View Photos of the Race